Award 2020

The Edith Alice Müller Award 2020 was attributed to

Ewelina Obrzud for her thesis ‘High Repetition Laser Rate Frequency Combs for Astronomical Spectrograph Calibration

This thesis contributes to the development of astronomical spectroscopy by offering perspectives for the improvement of existing and future extreme precision spectrographs.


Giole Janett for his thesis ‘Numerical Methods for the Transfer Equation of Polarized Radiation

This thesis deals with the numerical integration of the transfer equation of polarized radiation. It is a thorough numerical analysis of existing algorithms and it explores new veins for numerical methods capable of dealing with discontinuous and intermittent media. This thesis has the qualification for becoming a reference work on that topic.